Tuesday, March 20, 2012

Canadian Census Records Webinar

When looking at census records, do you look beyond the first five columns? Most people don't. Once they have the name, age, marital status, relationship to head of household, and place of birth for their ancestor, they stop.
Stopping at the fifth column in the census record doesn't give you all the information you could be getting about your ancestor. Usually, a few more details about your ancestor can be found, when you know where and what to look for.


Want to learn more?


Please join me this Thursday, March 22, 2012 for a free webinar.


Topic: Making the Most of the Canadian Census Records
Time:
    • 9:00 pm Eastern
    • 8:00 pm Central
    • 7:00 pm Mountain
    • 6:00 pm Pacific
    • 12:00 noon, Friday, March 23 in Australia
    • 2:00 pm, Friday, March 23 in New Zealand

  • Presenter: Kathryn Lake Hogan, owner of LOOKING4ANCESTORS
  • Duration: 60 minutes
  • Price: Free 
  • Experience Level: Beginner

      About the Webinar
      Learn strategies and techniques on how to get the most out of the Canadian census records in order to gain a better understanding of your ancestors. This presentation will put those techniques into practise by following three different families (Canadian, French-Canadian and African Canadian) through the census.

      What You'll Learn
      • The Importance of Name Variations
      • Where to Find the Canadian Census Records
      • Detailed Information about the Canadian Census, 1851 - 1911
      • Detailed Information about the Special Census, 1906 and 1916
      • Techniques for searching and navigating the census records

      Who Should Attend
      • Anyone who has Canadian ancestors
      • Anyone who has ancestors that spent time in Canada
      • Volunteers and librarians who want to help patrons learn about Canadian family history

      Space is limited.
      Reserve your spot for this Webinar by registering
      at:
      Once you are registered, you will receive a confirmation email with all the details about joining the webinar. 
      A reminder email will be sent the day of the webinar.




    Copyright by Kathryn Lake Hogan, 2012.

    No comments: